Furthering women's soccer like no magazine has done before

World Cup teams have international friendlies on schedule leading up to Germany

A number of teams headed to the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup will play friendly matches prior to leaving for Germany. This week, it was announced that Australia will play two games against New Zealand (May 12 and May 15). Colombia will play Mexico twice (both games are scheduled for the last week of April), while France will host Scotland at the 20,000-seat Stade Francis le Blé in Brest on May 18. Germany will play North Korea (May 21), Italy (June 3), the Netherlands (June 7), and Norway (June 16).  The U.S. will play Japan on May 14 and May 18 before their sendoff match, scheduled for June 5 against Mexico at Red Bull Arena. On May 17, England will play Sweden at The Kassam Stadium in Oxford, England. Nigeria will play Equatorial Guinea twice, but not in  friendlies. The teams will play against each other in the 2012 Olympic qualifiers.

The 2011 World Cup group stage begins June 26th with Germany taking on Canada and Nigeria facing France

Group A: Germany, Canada, Nigeria, France

Group B: Japan, New Zealand, Mexico, England

Group C: United States, North Korea, Columbia, Sweden

Group D: Brazil, Australia, Norway, Equatorial Guinea


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s