Furthering women's soccer like no magazine has done before

Christen Press wins the 2010 Mac Hermann Trophy

Stanford senior Christen Press has won the 2010 Mac Hermann Trophy. The award was presented Friday night at the Missouri Athletic Club. Press, Notre Dame’s Melissa Henderson, and Alex Morgan from California were the three finalists for the annual award, which was won by Stanford’s Kelley O’Hara last year. Press, who was the PAC-10 Player of the Year, led the country in goals (26), points (60), and points per game (2.50).

“It’s really been an exciting day. I’m here with my parents, and we’re all just really excited,” Press said via cell phone from the award ceremony. “It’s nice to have a day like this to reflect on the season. The major thing this season for me was that it was fun. I was enjoying myself. And my teammates, I was blessed to be part of such an amazing team.”

Henderson, a junior forward, helped lead the Fighting Irish to the 2010 NCAA Women’s College Cup championship. The Big East Offensive Player of the Year led Notre Dame in goals (17) and assists (11). Morgan, a senior forward for the Golden Bears, led the team in goals (14) and points (30). The All-Pac 10 selection only played in 12 games due to mid-season call-ups to the U.S. Women’s National Team.

“To be nominated in the company of Melissa and Alex is an honor,” Press said. “It’s just a really special moment in my life.”

The Mac Hermann Trophy is presented each year to the top college player in the nation. NCAA Division 1 women’s head coaches at colleges or universities that are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America vote on the finalists. Recent winners include Kelley O’Hara (2009), Kerri Hanks (2008 and 2006, Notre Dame), Mami Yamaguchi (2007, Florida State), Christine Sinclair (2004 and 2005, Portland), Cat Whitehill (Reddick) (2003, University of North Carolina), Aly Wagner (2002, Santa Clara), Christie Welsh (2001, Penn State), and Anne Makinen (2000, Notre Dame).

Photo courtesy Stanford University

One response

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Christen Press wins the 2010 Mac Hermann Trophy « Our Game Magazine -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s