Furthering women's soccer like no magazine has done before

Four Nations Tournament and Cyprus Women’s Cup highlight the start of 2011

Seven teams competing in the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup begin 2011 with a pair of tournaments. The U.S., Canada, and Sweden will take part in the Four Nations Tournament in mid-January in Chongqing, China, while England, North Korea, New Zealand, and France will play in the Cyprus Cup in February/March.

The U.S. Women’s National Team announced its 26-player roster for the team’s training camp, which will take place from Jan.8-13 at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. The team is preparing to face China, Sweden, and Canada in the 2011 Four Nations Tournament in Chongqing, China (Jan. 21-25). U.S. Head Coach Pia Sundhage will bring 23 players to China. The U.S. will play Sweden on Jan. 21, Canada on Jan. 23, and China on Jan. 25. In other matches, Canada plays China on Jan. 21, the U.S. on Jan. 23, and Sweden on Jan. 25. The U.S. and Sweden will play each other in Group C of this summer’s World Cup.

The Cyprus Cup is scheduled to run from Feb. 28-March 10 in Cyprus and feature France, England, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Switzerland, Italy, and North Korea. New Zealand and England will meet in Group B of the World Cup.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s