Furthering women's soccer like no magazine has done before

Countdown for the 2011 World Cup begins

The draw for the FIFA 2011 Women’s World Cup was held today in Frankfurt, Germany, and the 16 teams that qualified found out their fate. The seeded teams in each group were Germany (Group A), Japan (Group B), the United States (Group C), and Brazil (Group D). Here’s how the groups break down: Group A: Germany Canada, Nigeria, and France. Group B: Japan, New Zealand, Mexico, and England. Group C: USA, Korea DPR, Colombia, and Sweden. Group D: Brazil, Australia, Norway, and Equatorial Guinea. The first match is Germany vs. Canada (June 26, 2011) in Berlin. Nigeria plays France on the same day in Sinsheim. The top two teams in group stage advance to the Final Stage, which begins July 9, 2011, with the winner of Group A facing the second place team from Group B. That match will take place in Wolfsburg. The finals are set for July 17, 2011, in Frankfurt.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s