Furthering women's soccer like no magazine has done before

U.S. becomes 16th and final team to qualify for World Cup

The U.S. beat Italy 1-0 (2-0 aggregate) Saturday afternoon in Illinois to secure a spot in the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup. Amy Rodriguez scored in the 40th minute at Toyota Park and that’s all the U.S. needed to win the CONCACAF/UEFA playoff and reach the World Cup. The draw takes place Monday, Nov. 29, in Frankfurt, Germany. The host nation, Germany, is in Group A and will play its first match on June 26, 2011, its second match on June 30, and its third and final group stage match July 5. In addition to the U.S. (CONCACAF) and Germany (UEFA), the other 14 teams that will take part in the 2011 World Cup are: Brazil (CONMEBOL), Colombia (CONMEBOL), Nigeria (AWC), Equatorial Guinea (AWC), Canada (CONCACAF), Mexico (CONCACAF), New Zealand (Oceania), England (UEFA), Sweden (UEFA), Norway (UEFA), France (UEFA), Japan (AFC), North Korea (AFC), and Australia (AFC).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s